OpenCL and Windows 7/Snow Leopard

Discussion of Computers and anything related...

OpenCL and Windows 7/Snow Leopard

Postby marokero » Apr Tue 28, 2009 9:57 pm

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Window ... ,7648.html

This is going to be great! I hope both OS's make it so any and all programs can see a GPU as an additional processing unit. I have Windows 7 in my computer at work, but it's an older build (7057 or something like that) and doesn't see my 8800GT (the one I transplanted from my mac to the pc at work) as a processing unit. Working with programs like Lightroom will be a breeze, especially exporting the thousands of raw files into finished jpgs. Just slap a multicore GPU and you get a speed boost! :)
Alberto T.
User avatar
marokero
Valued Member
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Feb Mon 09, 2004 1:05 am
Location: NY, USA

Re: OpenCL and Windows 7/Snow Leopard

Postby TonyK » Apr Wed 29, 2009 7:07 pm

I wonder what beast I could throw in to my "Dallas" box. :)
TonyK
User avatar
TonyK
DD Patriot
 
Posts: 2371
Joined: Dec Fri 12, 2003 8:58 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN

Re: OpenCL and Windows 7/Snow Leopard

Postby marokero » May Mon 04, 2009 10:45 pm

Hey Tony, if you want to try the release candidate version of Windows 7, you can download it from these links:

http://co1piltwb.partners.extranet.micr ... d55145b321

http://co1piltwb.partners.extranet.micr ... d55145b321

http://co1piltwb.partners.extranet.micr ... d55145b321

It will be available for download until June 30th, 2009, without limits of downloads or product keys. It's 3GB in size, so a broadband connection is a must. I'm going to try it at work and see if the GPU shows up as an extra processor in the Task Manager. If it works as advertised I will snap a retail copy as soon as it's released. I will also be able to recommend my boss that we don't need new computers, just a better GPU :)
Alberto T.
User avatar
marokero
Valued Member
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Feb Mon 09, 2004 1:05 am
Location: NY, USA

Re: OpenCL and Windows 7/Snow Leopard

Postby TonyK » May Tue 05, 2009 6:35 pm

Almost done getting the ISO. Then I can install it in to VMWare Fusion. :D

Thanks,
TonyK
User avatar
TonyK
DD Patriot
 
Posts: 2371
Joined: Dec Fri 12, 2003 8:58 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN

Re: OpenCL and Windows 7/Snow Leopard

Postby mattchase » May Tue 05, 2009 8:09 pm

I downloaded RC1 earlier today but haven't decided yet if I want to do a dual boot or just replace Windows on one of my systems. I have a DVD backup (fully intact system) that I can always go back to if needed...and my one system has actually been acting up a bit. I'm just afraid of a few specific programs not working right in RC1, hence the thought to do a dual boot.
User avatar
mattchase
Naked Forum Dancer
 
Posts: 2535
Joined: Oct Sun 05, 2003 10:17 am
Location: Seguin, Texas

Re: OpenCL and Windows 7/Snow Leopard

Postby TonyK » May Wed 06, 2009 4:18 pm

Windows 7 is said to have an XP emulation mode.

To think, a few weeks back I got rid of all my flight simulators. Of course I did not have a MacPro capable of doing them justice. LOL
TonyK
User avatar
TonyK
DD Patriot
 
Posts: 2371
Joined: Dec Fri 12, 2003 8:58 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN

Re: OpenCL and Windows 7/Snow Leopard

Postby marokero » May Thu 07, 2009 12:56 am

Hey Matt, long time no see!

Seems Windows 7 RC still can't use a GPU as a regular processing unit, even with the latest WDDM 1.1 drivers. It was a nice try, but I haven't felt a noticeable speed improvement from 7057 to RC. But I'll patiently wait for the day it does support GPUs in that manner. :bong
Alberto T.
User avatar
marokero
Valued Member
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Feb Mon 09, 2004 1:05 am
Location: NY, USA

Re: OpenCL and Windows 7/Snow Leopard

Postby JoePhoto » May Wed 13, 2009 8:11 pm

That will be great - I have an 8800 as well and could always use faster!
Joe H.
NAPP, PPA, WPPI

~ BBS Photography ~ DeviantArt ~ Model Mayhem ~


"I don't suffer from insanity... I enjoy every minute of it"
User avatar
JoePhoto
The Cap'n
 
Posts: 3294
Joined: Oct Mon 20, 2003 8:16 am
Location: Wilmington, DE ***I wish I knew what I was doing!***

Re: OpenCL and Windows 7/Snow Leopard

Postby marokero » May Sun 17, 2009 8:02 am

Hey ya Joe! Yeah, faster is always good :D Unfortunately my GTX 295 isn't working with my Mac Pro anymore :cry It should work with other pc's (seems like a glitch with the Mac Pro's mobo), so I may be looking into a new build, completely from scratch. And eventually put Windows 7 when it comes out.


Well that sux. I love my 8800GTX 765MB card. Even when I retir my system, I'm taking that card out and keeping it under my pillow. It runs *everything!*
Alberto T.
User avatar
marokero
Valued Member
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Feb Mon 09, 2004 1:05 am
Location: NY, USA

Re: OpenCL and Windows 7/Snow Leopard

Postby TonyK » May Sun 17, 2009 8:20 am

My MacPro is using the ATI Radeon 2600 HD at this time. Don't see a need to change it yet, especially as the car took $1,400 recently. O2 sensor, a leaking gasket and while we were there, a new drive chain. With 107K miles on the old chain I felt better doing that. :D
TonyK
User avatar
TonyK
DD Patriot
 
Posts: 2371
Joined: Dec Fri 12, 2003 8:58 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN

Next

Return to Computers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron